Crown Royal Northern Harvest – I’m Back!

Since the beginning of January there has been no Crown Royal Northern Harvest available at the LCBO, presumably because the stocks had run dry.

This:

Northern Harvest LCBO Apology Card

…has become this:

Northern Harvest I'm Back Jan 30 2016
Enter a caption

…due to a whopping 4559 (!)  bottles finding their way onto the shelves across Ontario today (Jan 30).

This begs the question, has the hype died down or is there a simmering pent up demand that will erupt in a Jim Murray-fueled avalanche of sales? I’m leaning towards the latter, given that LCBO is now actively using Mr. Murray’s name on the price card to draw interest. I will track inventory over the next few days to see which way the public is leaning but I see no reason to think that the demand is even close to sated.

Still, despite how one might feel about Mr. Murray, the hype and the rush for stock, oh and the whiskey itself, at $32 this is a fantastic buy for a high quality rye whiskey. Even if you’re not even close to convinced that it’s the ‘best whiskey in the world’, it easily makes a great Manhattan as my wife and I found out last week.

One last thought on the dubious title that Northern Harvest currently bears: if it truly is the best in the world then it should, naturally, be of comparable quality to previous years’ winners, right? Given that, I will happily trade a bottle of Northern Harvest for a bottle of last years winner, Yamazaki Single Malt Sherry 2013. Any takers? Anyone? Please, don’t all rush to take me up on the offer.

I thought so.

Happy foraging!

Published by

Whisky Forager

I collect whisky. I like good prices for whisky. Living in Toronto doesn’t often allow for both but I'm lucky enough to travel a lot for work. I get to shop around for whisky and I want to share the good buying opportunities that I come across. That’s the premise. I’m not writing about tasting or grading whisky, there’s plenty of other sources for those opinions. I just want to share opportune finds for quality bottles at below market prices. A couple of years ago after discovering a pricing discrepancy at LCBO that provided a few deeply discounted bottles for my collection, I realized that there are lots of opportunities to purchase good single malts at a discount price. And not just outside of Canada but also sometimes in Ontario. It may be hard to believe, but the LCBO can be your ally just as often as it’s your nemesis. This is not a commercial site, I only share my finds based on my own opinions of good prices and good bottles.

Leave a Reply

