Northern Harvest, The Fallout

I mentioned in my last post that I would update my LCBO Alerts page as new stock of Crown Royal Northern Harvest Rye, AKA ‘The Best Whiskey In The World’, became available in Ontario. That may be more difficult than I anticipated. There is still significant stock at the LCBO warehouses and it is being released as we speak, just not in any predictable fashion.

From the LCBO website there were about 1200 bottles released today across the province, about 400 in Whitby and, curiously, 200 in Collingwood. Collingwood is a small resort town of about 20,000 people so why so many bottles would be for sale there is a bit of a mystery. Given that Toronto’s population is about 100 times that of Collingwood, I suppose  that we can expect a proportional amount to be on it way here. Sadly, even if I wasn’t exaggerating, I don’t think that 20,000 bottles would satisfy the insane demand that has been created for this whiskey. Let me explain.

crown-royal-northern-harvest-rye
The only bottle of Northern Harvest I have even seen.

This morning I saw that an LCBO outlet about a 20 minute drive from where I live would release 42 bottles. Okay, if I get there early enough I should be able to grab a bottle or two. I arrived twenty minutes after the store opened to find that they were already sold out. In fact, after talking with the manager, I discovered that there was already a line up at the door when they opened, and one person actually tried to buy five cases of this very limited stock. The store manager proudly told me that they refused him, limiting all purchases to two bottles so that the stock could be shared a little more fairly. Indeed kudos to the manager, but when will the madness end?

I will keep my eyes open for more, and with luck I will be able to sidestep the speculators, the resellers, and the just plain greedy. I hope.

Happy foraging!

 

 

 

 

Published by

Whisky Forager

I collect whisky. I like good prices for whisky. Living in Toronto doesn’t often allow for both but I'm lucky enough to travel a lot for work. I get to shop around for whisky and I want to share the good buying opportunities that I come across. That’s the premise. I’m not writing about tasting or grading whisky, there’s plenty of other sources for those opinions. I just want to share opportune finds for quality bottles at below market prices. A couple of years ago after discovering a pricing discrepancy at LCBO that provided a few deeply discounted bottles for my collection, I realized that there are lots of opportunities to purchase good single malts at a discount price. And not just outside of Canada but also sometimes in Ontario. It may be hard to believe, but the LCBO can be your ally just as often as it’s your nemesis. This is not a commercial site, I only share my finds based on my own opinions of good prices and good bottles.

2 thoughts on “Northern Harvest, The Fallout”

  1. It’s crazy how something that you would be able to purchase any day of the week normally, becomes the proverbial pot of gold at the end of the rainbow just because of one persons opinion. Then you get the people who just grab it hoping to make a quick buck out of it. I had something like this when odin was released by Highland Park, after spending ages trying to purchase from the website that crashed almost immediately. You had people putting there bottles on eBay for sale minutes after purchasing it for 3 times what they payed.
    I know it’s just business but I feel the true whisky lover losses out in these case’s.

    Like

  2. Couldn’t agree more. Besides the auction speculators, now every bar in the country will have to have a bottle on their shelves out of national pride, if nothing else. And if they can’t buy from the liquor outlets then resellers at jacked prices will be the source. Damned whiskey scalpers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

